Engine on stand

February 13, 2010

It’s been a busy week, so this is the first time I got to work on the car after taking the engine out last week. Today I cleaned up after the mess I made and put the engine on an engine stand. I started by removing the torque convertor. That got me quite frustrated as I was trying to open the bolts from the starter opening with little success.  I even modified a spanner to make it fit better. Then I used my head and cleaned some of the goo off the bottom of the engine and found a plastic cover with an access hole underneath it. Then the torque converter came off easy. After that I ran to the hardware store to get longer bolts and put the engine on the stand.

According to the package the stand should carry up to 450kg (the V12 weighs about 240kg according to some sources), but it does feel quite unstable and wobbly with the V12 on it. I guess it will hold, but I put the floor jack underneath the oil pan just to be sure.


Engine on stand and garage rearranged.

I looked around to identify the oil leaks and most of it seems to be coming from the valve cover gaskets and upper oil pan gasket, possible timing chain tensioner as well. What disturbs me is that on the rear of the engine it looks like oil is leaking between the cylinder heads and the block. Maybe it’s just a case of warm oil spreading all over the engine. I don’t really wanna take the heads off unless necessary.


Leaks in front of engine.

Head gasket leak?

Upper oil pan gasket leaking.

Valve cover gasket leak.

Transmission rear oil seal leak.

Next time I’ll start removing the intake manifold to get a better look at the leaks and take a peek at the valvetrain.

4 Responses to “Engine on stand”

  1. Roberto Says:

    Hello Edvin! Great job you’re doing! I’m very interested in your work.
    I have an E28 525i 05/87 and i think that these are wonderfull machines.
    Best regards,
    Roberto.

  2. Johan Says:

    Hi Edvin, seems I’m not the only crackpot rebuilding an e32 750i.

    You spoke of blue smoke when taking off. This is 95% sure caused by one of the following:
    1) Worn crankcase ventiation valves
    2) Worn valve stem seals
    3) worn piston rings (very common on the M70)

    If you have the budget I’d replace all three so you only have to get the engine out once.

    Good luck on your project!

    • Edvin Says:

      Hi Johan,

      Thanks! It’s not the most common car, but we’re out there.

      The car made some bluish smoke when I started it after it had been standing for almost a year. I still haven’t driven it.

      I plan on replacing the ventilation valves and perhaps valve stem seals, but probably not the piston rings, since that would break my budget. I don’t even know how much the engine has really been driven and used engines are dirt cheap, so it doesn’t really make sense to spend much on this one. Maybe if the the rest of the car was pristine…

      I want to thank you and Sean for your great site. Although this is my first E32 I’ve been reading your site for a long time (had a few E34’s). The site is a real fountain of knowledge and a constant source of motivation and inspiration for me. 🙂

      Lately I’ve been really busy at work, but I’m planning to make another update later this week.


Leave a Reply

