Ultrasonic cleaning

May 2, 2010

Once again, sorry for the lack of updates lately. Work has still kept me busy, as has the start of the motorcycling season. I hope I’ll have more time to work on the car in the near future.

I’m still in the cleaning stage. I’ve been trying to think of good ways to clean parts, small and big. First I tried a citric acid bath, but that only really works on removing rust. I was going to use the power washer today and clean the transmission & some other parts, but the washer broke. Will have to get a better one. I figured a ultrasonic cleaner would be good, but all the larger ones seem to be meant for industrial use and cost a shitload… I managed to find a small metal washer on eBay for a reasonable price and bought it. There were a lot of cheap small plastic ones, but they looked like toys. The one I bought is pretty small, so I’m mainly gonna use it for cleaning nuts, bolts and other small parts like the fuel injectors. It doesn’t work wonders on the really dirty parts, but it beats scrubbing everything with a toothbrush and some parts looked really good after cleaning. It doesn’t help with oxidation and pitting, but it removes the oily gunk from the threads. I might have go at electrolytic cleaning next, just out of interest.


My little ultrasonic cleaner.

Parts before washing.

Parts after washing.

I also cleaned the intake manifolds and a few other small parts in the dishwasher, don’t tell my girlfriend. šŸ™‚ Those came out nice.


Clean intake manifolds.

Current state of engine.

2 Responses to “Ultrasonic cleaning”

  1. Tamerlane Says:

    Edvin, Are you waiting until NEXT winter to work on the BMW? šŸ™‚

    • Edvin Says:

      Hi,

      Yeah I know, it’s been way too quiet here lately. Sorry, work and motorcycling has just kept me too busy. However I started my three week long summer vacation just this monday. I’m going to Barcelona for a week today but when I come back I promise to get something done on the car.

      The initial idea for this project was to have something fun to do in the winter when you can’t ride motorcycles. Still, I think I’m gonna get the engine back in the car before there’s snow on the ground. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

